Jump to content
Cover for Artemis to Actaeon
Isbn: 978-87-2812-749-0
Publisher: Saga Egmont
Novels Poetry Historic facsimile
Accessible since: June 2022


Artemis to Actaeon

While she might be best known as the author of ‘The Age of Innocence’ (adapted for film, and starring Michelle Pfeiffer, and Daniel Day-Lewis), Edith Wharton wrote an extensive range of novels, journals, and poetry.

Containing 24 poems, ‘Artemis to Actaeon’ muses on the themes of life, love, death, and the passing of time, with a few well-chosen words set aside for her beloved France. As the title suggests, there is plenty of classical inspiration as Wharton draws on ancient legends surrounding mythical figures, such as Orpheus, and Actaeon.

Her writing is lyrical and has a yearning quality to it, particularly in poems such as ‘All Souls,’ and ‘Vesalius in Zarate.’ A superb collection for those familiar with Wharton’s work, and those new to her.

Edith Wharton (1862 – 1937) was an American designer and novelist. Born in an era when the highest ambition a woman could aspire to was a good marriage, Wharton went on to become one of America’s most celebrated authors.

During her career, she wrote over 40 books, using her wealthy upbringing to bring authenticity and detail to stories about the upper classes. She moved to France in 1923, where she continued to write until her death.

EPUB3: Reflowable

Log in to borrow


Log in to borrow this title and view current loan status.
Read more here How to borrow

Supported platforms


Tablet e-reader